Unfortunately I didn’t get to post last night because we got into our room very late and I had to get up really early the next morning. 

 So far the Conference has been amazing!  I’m really sad that it’s almost coming to an end.  I’ve met so many great people and have heard a lot of great speakers. 

Today we went to an early taping of C-Span which was amazing!  It was fun to see what taping a live television show involves, and it was really great to hear professionals speaking about politics and journalism.  I learned a lot by observing their conversation and back-and-forth banter.

After the taping of C-Span we got to talk to John Earnest, White House Press Secretary and Special Assistant to the President.   Which was needless to say…. Amazing!  Being really into politics, I’ve just been trying to soak up everything I hear and learn as much as possible with the little time I have.    So it’s really great to hear all these  wonderful speakers, and John Earnest was undoubtedly one of the many highlights of the trip.

A couple hours and 5-minute naps later and we traveled back to the George Mason Fairfax campus to listen to Sari Horwitz and Scott Higham discuss their journey putting together the “Finding Chandra” story.  It was all about investigative journalism and the difficulties they faced, which I found extremely intriguing.  Even though I’m not quite sure investigative journalism is for me (or what some of the other speakers specialized in for that matter) I’m still enjoying learning as much as I can about all the different media/journalism related fields while I’m here. 

After their discussion, we got to hear Dean Flagel talk about the college admissions process which was a blast.  Dean Flagel was hilarious and really kept the room full of energy!  To be honest, I’ve been through quite a few admissions talks, so it wasn’t exactly the content of the speech that interested me as much as his hilarious one-liners.  He was a great, down to earth type of person which you don’t really see too often with college deans.  It was a great way to end the night.

It’s currently 11:19 right now though, and I’m dead tired so unfortunately I’m going to bring this blog to a close.  Thanks for reading, and I’ll write more later when my eyes aren’t about 3/4 of the way shut.

