View of Washington DC - By Jenna Welsh

It’s 6 a.m. and the blaring alarm goes off.  I stagger out of bed and try to hop into the shower before my roomate wakes up, and the bathroom gets too occupied (and believe me, 4 girls to a bathroom can be tricky).  As the day goes on and I continue to stagger around my dark room like a zombie, I’m becoming more and more excited about the Washington Journalism and Media Conference (I’ve finally realized where I am by now).

Today began with a quick breakfast – that is once me and my friend found the building, of pancakes and green tea.  Sadly, there was no Starbucks. Isn’t it crazy that they open at 8 a.m. I mean it’s for coffee drinkers for heaven’s sake.  We get up early!

After breakfast we were off to visit the Newseum which was amazing!  The student correspondents got to see the Berlin Wall exhibit, 911 exhibit, the Hurricane Katrina exhibit, and much more great exhibits related to news.  I could have spent all day looking at the fascinating exhibits!

One of my personal favorites was the Pulizter Prize winning photographs.  We as student correspondents saw heart-wretching photos of the brutality in Bangkok, Iranian hostages returning home, Sunni Muslims being executed in Iran, and much more.

After the Newsuem we partcipated in some group activites and got to hear some more speakers.  I personally went to Steve Farnsworth’s and Tom Jackman’s sessions which were amazing!  The first was about politics and the second about criminal reporting.  I’m not sure which field interests me more.  At this point, I think the whole world of journalism is fascinating to explore!

Anyway, it is 10:47 p.m. and oddly enough, I’m exhausted and can barley keep my eyes open enough to make sure that there aren’t any of those embarassing typos that we all hate peppered throughout this blog.

Thanks for reading about my second day at the Washington Journalism and Media Conference.  Stay tuned for day three!

